There is a purity of a human being

A few words from a interview with Selmar Hayek.

 

Are you spiritual?

I am a spiritual person but I am not a religious spiritual person. I don’t want anyone giving rules to my relationship with God or my spirituality. Sometimes I find spirituality in art or in science because it’s about discovering the source of who we are. Spirituality is about creation and the exploration of the unknown.

Did you have a religious upbringing?

Yes, I was brought up a Catholic. And I have respect for it and I got a lot of good things out of it. I believe in values that are very similar to Catholics. I also like this Pope very much. I really like him!

Have you met him?

No. I don’t do celebrity spiritual tours. But I have a lot of respect for the guy. I think that sometimes it’s religion that keeps us separate though. If you take the religion out, if you take all the countries away, all the culture away, you will find that there is a purity to a human being and a unity to who we are.

http://www.theguardian.com/film/2014/sep/11/salma-hayek-on-religion-the-pope-and-the-prophet

Leave a Reply

